top of page
Search

Sharing is Caring

This was supposed to be the "anti log on" update, but due to the nature of how matches are downloaded, I couldn't remove logging in completely. I was hoping to at least use Steam's more secure OAuth log on, but that unfortunately does not give me the functionality I need. Even though I was mainly focused on removing logging in or making it less sketchy, I was able to add something pretty cool. Match sharing! Here is the list of changes:


- Added anonymous log in

- Added disclaimer before normal log in

- Added ability to share a match

- Added ability to receive a shared match

- Added deep link support

- ARMv7 support


The anonymous log in helps at least with the downloading of maps without the need to log in. Thanks to u/dj_shorty and u/getplanes from reddit for the idea. Someone else on reddit gave me the idea of using Steam's web api to get recent matches. I started implementing that but unfortunately hit a road block. The problem was while the web api did give me the recent matches, it did not give me the actual match info. When logged into Steam, I have access to a Proto data type of the match that contains a lot of information about the match. This information not only includes kills, deaths, and assists, but also a link that lets me download the match. Due to this information being inaccessible from the web api, I stopped implementing that and kept the normal log on as well as the anon log on. I hope in the future I'll find something that'll let me remove logging in, or at least make it less sketchy.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

First Public Release

- Fixed issues with match info. - Made names in replays not blurry when resolution slider low. - Orbit animations now pause when match is paused. - Added camera mode button. - Added touch guides for e

First Post and Internal Release History

This blog will be used to update the community about the changes happening to the application GO:View. This is the first post, so I will put the history of the internal test releases here. In the futu

bottom of page